JAFFREY BETTERMENT TRUST COMMITTEE

Sarah Bergeron, Jaffrey Historical Society Peter Chamberlain, Jaffrey Chamber of Commerce Amy Meyers, Jaffrey Planning Board Margaret Pokorny, Jaffrey Center Village Improvement Society Matt Shea, Moderator's nominee



Jaffrey Town Office 10 Goodnow Street Jaffrey, NH 03452 https://www.rs41.org/jbt.htm

MEETING NOTES March 28, 2024

The Jaffrey Betterment Trust Committee held its inaugural meeting at Noon on March 28, 2024, at the Jaffrey Town Office.

The meeting was previously posted on the Town website and at the Jaffrey Post Office and the Town Office.

Attending were Committee members Sarah Bergeron, Peter Chamberlain, Amy Myers, Margaret Pokorny and Matt Shea. Also, Town Manager Jon Frederick and Trustee of Trust Funds Diane Schaumann. Also, Advisory member Rob Stephenson. (Advisory member Chris Bean sent his regrets as he had to be out of town.)

The Committee members introduced themselves to those attending.

The Trust Document was reviewed and discussed: The purpose of the Trust; the history of its creation; the fact that grants can only be made from income and will only be made after the trust assets exceed \$100,000; and that the Committee is the "agent to expend."

A question was posed: Projects eligible for funding must be within the Town of Jaffrey but must the applicant organization be based in Jaffrey? It was concluded that the answer is "no."

A draft Press Release/Handout was discussed. Based on comments expressed, it will be shortened and three versions produced:

1) a press release to be submitted to the *Ledger-Transcript* and the *Sentinel*;

2) a handout to be available at the Town Office, to be distributed at the next Town Meeting and to be placed on the Town website; and

3) an informational version directed at attorneys, estate planners, bankers, etc., who might be in a position to recommend the Trust to clients and customers as a worthy recipient of bequests. (This version could also be sent to future grant applicants: garden clubs, the Conservation Commission, Historical Society, Chamber of Commerce, Village Improvement Society, etc.)

The Committee chose not to elect a Chair and a Secretary at this meeting but to address this at the next scheduled meeting. Amy Meyers did volunteer to be temporary chair if necessitated if Rob becomes unavailable to assist before the next meeting.

Although circumstances may arise where a meeting will need to be called within the next year, the next scheduled meeting will nonetheless be held at **Noon**, **Tuesday**, **April 1**, **2025**, at the Jaffrey Town Office.

In conclusion, photographs of the Committee were then taken.

The meeting was then adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Rob Stephenson Committee Advisor



Matt Shea, Sarah Bergeron, Margaret Pokorny, Peter Chamberlain and Amy Meyers.